Ancient Thailand in Ayutthaya

thailand-bangkok-web-44

While I thoroughly enjoyed my time in Bangkok, 10 days in such a crowded, noisy city is a bit overwhelming. So, a day trip! My friends gave me a list of destinations, and Ayutthaya seemed to be a top choice. As the old capital of the Kingdom of Siam, Ayutthaya is filled with wats, wats, and more wats. Most all the sights are spread out on the island in the center of the city, which is essentially one large park, with the functioning modern town built around it.

I’m going to be honest: This was not my favorite trip. The city was messy and  not in a charming way, and the ruins seemed a little sad and downtrodden (literally, I suppose, as they are ruins!). I was excited to see the elephants, but put off by the tricks they made them do for their watermelon slices. To be fair, this could all be tainted by the food poisoning I contracted there that landed me in the hospital back in Bangkok… So here are some photos, pre-poisoning, of Wat Mahathat and its Khmer architecture. The dozens of beheaded buddhas were decapitated by the Burmese back in the day, and now sit serenely between the banyans.

thailand-bangkok-web-42 thailand-bangkok-web-50 thailand-bangkok-web-47 thailand-bangkok-web-49 thailand-bangkok-web-48 thailand-bangkok-web-51

One comment

Leave a Reply

