Exploring the Omani Coast: Sawadi Islands

oman-alsawadi-web-4

Reunited and it feels so good! I’ve been back in Oman for the last week and I’m happy to be with my love and my goats again in this desert paradise. While I’ve shot a ton in Oman, I’m trying to save the photos to accompany some travel stories, so I thought I’d share some snapshots of my daily life here instead.

I live in Al Sawadi, a coastal village about 1.5 hours from Muscat, the capital. Sawadi is the best beach in Oman for shell collecting (you can see my finds here) and it’s also known for the handful of islands directly off the coast. During low tide you can walk to the fort on the largest island, or kayak to the others for secluded beaches and decent snorkeling. It is also a jumping off point for boat trips to the Daymaniyat Islands, for some of the best diving in the world.

oman-alsawadi-square-18 oman-alsawadi-square-15 oman-alsawadi-square-22 oman-alsawadi-square-24 oman-alsawadi-square-21 oman-alsawadi-square-17 oman-alsawadi-square-19 oman-alsawadi-square-14  oman-alsawadi-square-16 oman-alsawadi-square-14-2 oman-alsawadi-square-20 oman-alsawadi-square-23

 

One comment

  1. devinci101

    You are originally from Oman? What’s it like there – you know, in general? These photos seem too good to be part of your daily life! 😀
    ❤ the sunset photo; it captures how infinite the sky looks, especially with the natural gradient effect whenever the sun goes down. I know I'm being Captain Obvious here, but the sky is BIG and we don't always see it like that.
    The water pictures are also very beautiful. The water seems so clear.
    What's in the photo that has the sparkles in it, or whatever they are?

Leave a Reply

